Mimic Shirred Eggs

Shirred eggs.  Baked eggs.  “Fried eggs in the days prior to a fancy cooktop on which skillets could be placed to fry things.”  Slow fried eggs with toppings.

I attempted a proper recipe at this and found the need to prepare the oven a bit annoying — because I had no other need to use it (heating these days is from the Central Dragon, not a constantly running hearth).  After scrying the alternate realms for a bit, I realized that the way I prepared these was basically “slow fried eggs”.  The objective isn’t to “fry” the egg, have it “over-{any} style”, or make “sunny side up”, but cook it through “low and slow” so the toppings settle in, the cream doesn’t curdle, and everything firms up nicely.

I accompanied these with toast, as is proper.  When baked, I baked them for 12m, added the cheese, then baked for 3m more.  I didn’t time this on the stovetop, I eye-balled it.  Ow.

What went in the pan:

 

  • 2 eggs
  • 1T heavy cream (half-and-half would work, but not light cream)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • chives
  • paprika
  • Gruyere cheese

What else went in the belly:

  • toast
  • a wee dob of mint jelly, “on the side”

I used a very small cast iron pan for this (the #2).  It fit everything perfectly.

Warm the pan on a burner on really low heat. I set my gas burner on a 3, so maybe a 2 for an electric?

Crack eggs individually into a cup and add into the pan.  (Good practice to catch a bloody-egg before it touches other ingredients).

Drizzle with cream.

Season with salt, pepper, chive, and paprika. I used savory instead of salt and pepper in one attempt. General “seasoning” seems to be the thing. For the chives I have a jar of freeze-dried chives which you should be able to get at any store. They’re great for a oniony taste without the hassle of an onion. In this case, also without the moisture of bulk.

When the eggs look almost done, crumble the Gruyere over them. Feta could also work. I read about Parmesan and mozzarella, but I think Parm is too subtle in flavor and moz is probably too stringy and wet. Something crumbly, dry, and pungent is nice. Blue Cheese would work too.

Let cheese melt a bit and “plate”.

I started toast going at “about the right time” so it would be toasted and buttered right around the time the eggs were ready.

An alternate version of this is to put a piece of ham (slab, obviously) at the bottom of the pan. That might be where baking this is better. But for just eggs, the stove-top approach was really easy.

At least this mimic doesn’t bite back… unless you season it to do so!

3 thoughts on “Mimic Shirred Eggs

  1. Coupla thoughts

    (1) Electric tend to not get as hot as gas so one is tempted to say a 3 on a gas is a 4 on an electric… however… lowest on an electric tends not to be as low as lowest on a gas… so perhaps a 3 is a 2 is the right advice (aside from “why are you cooking on electric if you care about your food?!”)… that being said…

    (2) If you use a pan with a fitting lid, you can turn the heat even lower and cook even slower. I make stove top fritata this way when I don’t want to fuss around with an omlette.

    (3) Spanish cheeses. For semi-firm look at pimento, campo de montalban or for something milder iberico. For firm look at manchego or mahon (even stronger is mahon curado). That being said, if your parm is too subtle, you’re buying the wrong parm. True parm has more umami by weight than any other food on earth. If anything, true parm would be _too strong_ for eggs, not too subtle. But if you prefer Italian cheeses, and I agree that mozz is the wrong choice here, look at fontina or asiago.

  2. Your point #2 catches something I omitted. I did actually use a lid that “mostly fit”, but kept the heat in well enough.

    I did watch/learn a fantastically easy way to make an omelette. I used to really suck at it. Now to see if I can remember where that video was. In short, the trick was to minorly “shred” the interior region of the egg as it cooked to allow the liquid to contact the pan and firm — stop doing this when about 1/3 (?) of the egg is cooked. The result is a perfectly cooked amount of egg, especially perfect for a person who prefers eggs more dry than not. I now do not fear the notion of an omelette.

Comments are closed.