When Dragon Meets Pig

Dragons are notoriously hungry and they don’t approach their meals delicately.  So it is no surprise that they shred their victims prior to consuming them.  For me, to make this a little easier, I decided to slow cook it.  Descending upon it from on high and using my imaginary talons would not have worked so well.  And then I’d heve been yelled at for making a mess in the kitchen.

So, instead, I followed this recipe for slow-cooked pulled pork.

To top it, I read a few recipes and concocted this for the BBQ sauce:

  • 2c ketchup
  • 2T cider vinegar
  • 1T cumin
  • 1T garlic powder
  • 2t ground coriander seed
  • 1t chipotle powder
  • 1t black pepper
  • Put all in a pan. Mix. Warm over low/med-low heat until it bubbles. Stir. Cook for 15 minutes stirring occasionally.

I really enjoy pork and chicken in this stereotypical southern style.  This comes out as no exception to that.  The pork recipe yields a moist, slightly sweet, nicely seasoned meat.  The sauce has the right kind of heat and tang to it to make a perfect accent.  Not quite dragon fire, but heat is noticeable.  And so… dragon meets pig.

4 thoughts on “When Dragon Meets Pig

  1. I love chipotle powder. So much flavor and the smell is amazing. I’ll definitely try this. (Tough I’ll keep the chipotle powder by my plate so I can increase the size of the dragon, without overwhelming the family.) >:)

    • Alternatively, you may want to make a separate, smaller batch. Cooking this absolutely brought out a strength in the chipotle along with other, smokier, qualities. When I first tasted it after adding the powder I was happy with the amount. After about 5 minutes it was clear that this BBQ sauce was going to tickle at my taste-v-pain tolerance.

  2. I found the BBQ sauce relatively tame. But then, I’m the kimch’i girl, so it’s all in the palate of the diner. 🙂

    • It’s probably safer to keep tame dragons around, no? We wouldn’t want a bona fide fire-breather on the loose!

Comments are closed.