Chocolate Sauce of …

How really to describe chocolate sauce, especially one that works out so nicely.  This one uses cream, but I could see it using a coconut or almond alternative.  That I should try at some point to see how those flavors play in this.  I’ve been making this for a few years as a drizzle for angel food cake, and recently as a way to make my own chocolate sauce for mochas.

  • 1/2 C Baking Cocoa
  • 1 C Granulated Sugar
  • 1t Cinnamon
  • 1/2 C Water
  • 1/4 C Heavy Cream (Light works as well)
  • 1T Kahlua

In a small saucepan [1] combine the cocoa, sugar, cinnamon and water.  Mix well [2].  Bring to a boil over medium heat and stir constantly for 5 minutes once it boils.  Remove from heat and add the cream and kahlua.  Let it cool completely [3] and then store it in a tight sealing container.

And now for some notes.

[1]  I use a saucier.  This is far from being fancy, more of an accident, but now I can recommend it and seem fancy.  This distributes the heat well, but also by design it is a lot easier to stir in.  If you get the right shape one, these are also great for steaming things in (with a basket) or heating soups in.  Mine in an integral part of my cooking routine for a lot of things outside of sauces due to the distribution of heat.

[2] Yeah right.  Ever try to mix cold ingredients?  Just turn the heat on and stir.  Ideally you have it all mixed before this boils.

[3] I find this is easier to pour when molten.  I store it in a 1 pint Ball jar, and put a spoon in it prior to pouring in the hot liquid.

When making a mocha with this, I’ll use about 1T of the sauce — maybe 4t.  It’s all ‘ish’.  I’ve also taken to putting a few drops of peppermint extract to have my own peppermint mocha.  Yum!

