Flaming Bowl of Flaming Yum (Dolsot Bibimbap)

This falls in the category of not eating leftovers the same way twice.  However, this falls outside the category of me trying not to suggest recipes with esoteric ingredients or tools.  But this turned passable leftovers into a really tasty meal.

Components:

  • Dolsot (Korean stone pot/bowl for cooking)
  • Burner plate or small cast iron pan (for gas stoves)
  • Vegetable stir fry
  • Cooked Rice (pref. Korean-style sticky)
  • Egg
  • Happy Red Stuff (aka Gochujang)

Making this is spectacularly easy, particularly if you have the leftovers to do it.  So easy… yep… a Level 1 could do it.  Though the prerequisites for Gochujang are level 5 (level 3 just to say it right).  Of course, it is also spectacularly easy to get burned, so put on those Gloves of Fire Protection!

Start heating that pot.  If you have an electric stove, you can put it right on the burner.  If you prefer a raging fire … um, I mean a gas range, you need a small cast iron pan or a cast iron burner cover so the bowl doesn’t crack.  Spray the pot lightly with cooking oil and quickly press some leftover rice in the bowl to form an inner bowl taking up about half of the interior.  Imagine this as a rice shell or coating into which you’ll put the veggies.

So, about those veggies.  Put them.  In, that is.

Cover the pot and — getting wizardly here — let it get hot.  My arcane metric:  sizzling sounds and steam.  I know I’ve gone too far if that is all followed by the smell of burning rice.  If you like sundials, track the celestial body for about 3 marks — being 15 minutes.

Once it “gets hot”, crack the egg into a small bowl (good way of detecting a bad egg… if only it worked with people!) and dump into the pot.  If you’re the daring sort, mix and eat as soon as you want to.  If you like to avoid the witches Sam & Ella*, I recommend mixing the egg in, turning off the heat, and covering for 5 minutes.  That’s enough time to heat the egg to a safe temperature.

The best part is the Happy Red Stuff… because it makes you feel happy.**  I usually dilute it with a little water and Rice Vinegar with the quantity based on regular tasting until it the sauce is slightly thicker than ketchup, catsup, or whatever you choose to call that other red condiment.

Mix in the Happy Red Stuff.

Carefully transport the pot/bowl to wherever you are going to eat.  If you can levitate the bowl, do so.

Eat.  Feel the glow.  Become happy…. and fed.

* Salmonella… get it?  Sam and… oh, never mind.

** There is reasonable proof that this stuff releases endorphins.  Put it on everything.  Be happy all the time… and maybe a red sticky mess if you actually put it on everything.

6 thoughts on “Flaming Bowl of Flaming Yum (Dolsot Bibimbap)

    • I haven’t done any specific ingredient comparisons, but I think so.

      As I understand it (so I could be wrong) Sriracha is pretty much a form of chilies with garlic and vinegar. Gochujang is red chili powder, glutinous rice powder, powdered fermented soy beans, and salt (per Wikipedia). To me I think it is the fermented soy bean that gives it a very subtle fishy taste which I do not taste in sriracha.

      I ended up not using sriracha often enough to keep it around. But when I make the rare thing that I would want it in, gochujang has been a horrible, -horrible- substitute.

      • I use sriracha in almost everything and always have it around, so I’d be inclined to make the substitution in the other direction. Would dishes like the one you’ve laid out here suffer without that subtle, fishy taste?

        • There are so many things going on with this dish that I think unless one is drowning it in the sauce the switch should not be an issue. Ultimately the only flavor disappearing would be that “fishy” fermented soy bean flavor.

          As a bad case of switching out, I think more of something like pho. Gochujang is -not- an acceptable substitute in that case for me. The flavor change was not right to my tastebuds.

          • Pho is one of those annoying dishes where everything has to be exactly what it is or it isn’t right at all. Even slight changes to the clear broth can throw the whole thing out of whack.

            Cheese steaks are another, but that’s really only relevant without about a 100 mile radius of Philadelphia.

Comments are closed.