Exquisite Power Drink of Chilling (aka Iced Cafe Americano)

Trying to keep up here a little so, like adventuring, a little something is better than nothing at all.  A peek around a corner, an undiscovered treasure, or simply that room you’ve walked by dozens of times and never bothered to peek in.  And the latter is what this is for me.  I have an espresso machine.  I have ice.  I know what cafe Americano is (espresso + hot water so it is the same volume as a “cuppa”).  But I have never, until recently, made this … exquisite power drink of chilling.

What I didn’t know is that this can be done wrong.  You can either have something very tasty and chilled, or something bitter, vile, cold, and perhaps mistaken for that jar of dragon urine you keep around for disintegrating trespassers.

After no experimentation, and some reading, here is what happily hit on the first time.  Fill the intended glass with ice (typically a pint glass) and then empty that ice into a Pyrex measuring cup.  Brew the espresso, typically a double (i.e., doppio).  Place a metal spoon into the measuring cup and slowly pour the espresso over the ice.  The hot espresso will melt some of the ice yielding cafe americano.  The remainder of the ice compliments what is now an iced cafe americano.

Drink.  Enjoy.  Feel teh powah.  Roll save vs. caffeine rush.  Failure results in 1d10 turns spent talking like Cornholio.

One thought on “Exquisite Power Drink of Chilling (aka Iced Cafe Americano)

  1. By and large, I don’t drink coffee anymore. On Saturday mornings if we go out for breakfast or brunch, I’ll get an Americano, almost always decaf, but that’s about it.

    _Except_ when the weather is above 90 degrees. Then I more or less require iced Americanos practically intravenously.

    Most coffee shops seem to still use water to make the Americano and then ice it down. I find that this results in a bitter drink because of the time delay between pulling the shot and adding the water. I don’t entirely understand the chemistry, but apparently those few seconds matter _a lot_.

    The only risk with using just ice is that you don’t melt quite enough of it and you end up with iced espresso, which is still very tasty, but a lot more intense.

    In my experience, sadly, iced Americano does not work with non-dairy lightening products such as soy milk, almond milk or coconut milk. It seems to really need the dairy fat to “work”, which means on non-dairy days I drink them black. Which is a bit harsh.

Comments are closed.